10 Signs You’re A Raging Shopaholic

Fall is here! And you know what that means. It’s time to head out and start filling up on cool weather clothing supplies. I know I could personally use some chunky new wedge booties, a pair of loafers, and some vintage inspired grandpa cardigans. But as a self-professed fashion blogger, it can be easy to get carried away when it comes to shopping. Afterall, it’s what the industry is all about, constantly reinventing itself every season to sell the consumer more products. Which is why I’m a big fan of personal style more so than fashion. Yet for the stylista on a budget, this habit of constantly replenishing the wardrobe with the latest trends can become detrimental to the pocketbook. Perhaps your habit isn’t that bad…But if you’ve noticed your shopping habits are starting to affect your ability to pay off those student loans or to make the big move out the nest, you might want to consider some of the signs…

1. The first place you go after getting your paycheck is to the mall
I’m learning to budget more and more. But when I got my first job that paid me over minimum wage, I went crazy for the first few months. I bought just about everything my little heart desired, only to realize that I still didn’t have things I needed. I was just getting caught up in the moment. Big mistake!

2. Window shopping is never just window shopping
“Oh yeah, I’m just gonna take a little peek,” you tell your friends, “I won’t buy anything.” 45 minutes later you’re standing outside the shop with less cash and a shopping bag in your hand.

3. The word “sale” sends you running in a mad dash to the sales rack
Just because something’s on sale doesn’t mean you NEED it. I cannot stress this enough to myself. Sure you can find plenty of great steals for your wardrobe. But why buy something that you wouldn’t want to buy if it wasn’t on sale?…

4. A sinking feeling fills your tummy when you realize you’ve bought another pair of shoes
Ever made a purchase and felt your heart drop a little when you walk out the store? Yeah…that’s your GUILT squeezing your heart because you bought another pair of shoes to collect dust in the graveyard that is your room!

5. There’s nowhere to put all of your clothes and your bedroom has become a closet
In all honesty, my closet has spilled out of the tiny space it was allotted and morphed into my entire room. I have clothes hanging from my canopy bed! Major party foul…

6. Somehow you managed to meet your shopping quota for the week, yet you still missed your bill payment
This has happened to me once, and I will never let it happen again. Missing a bill payment to go shopping is absolutely unacceptable. And we all know it. So don’t let this happen to you! This is a problem that I’m going to assume college kids have to deal with. Keep track of when your credit card payments are due.

7. You hide your shopping buys from your parents/roomies/ or boyfriend
If you find yourself stuffing your new finds into your huge purse before going into the house, you may have a problem. You have now become a clothes smuggler. Doesn’t that sound ridiculous? That’s because it is.

8. The adrenaline starts pumping and your heart goes thump just from online browsing
I’m not going to lie. I’ve spent hours online browsing site to site, saving pictures in Powerpoint documents, and making ridiculously large wish lists.

9. You buy multiple items over again in different colors
Sometimes it’s good to have staple items such as basic tees and cardigans in a few different colors, but why buy something that you already have? You’re just throwing money out the door instead of really building a strong wardrobe.

10. Every time you shop you tell yourself you just need a few more tops to make your wardrobe complete
In actuality you can never have enough clothes. You can buy every staple item, every accessory, and every statement piece you want for a month and you’ll still want more and more! The desire to have new clothes and new ways to represent your personality can become insatiable, but only if you let it!

The Battle Begins…
I’ve created this list to help myself and any other shopaholics out there suffering from the same mistakes I myself make. Before my next shopping trip, I’m doing to take stock of what I have in my wardrobe. Any staple items I have missing will take priority first. Only then will I allow myself to buy shoes and accessories. If you are having the same problem with your wardrobe I suggest you do the same. I guarantee you’ll feel much better about your wardrobe once you’ve got all the essentials!

Need a little help getting started? Consider some of these strategies…

Cure For The Itch
– Organize your wardrobe
– Throw out anything that doesn’t make you feel 100% fabulous (this includes fit and quality) Donate to the Goodwill if it’s still in good quality!
– Make sure you have all your wardrobe essentials (this way you can never say, I don’t have anything to wear)

Comments
22 Responses to “10 Signs You’re A Raging Shopaholic”
  1. Whew! I only do 4/10. Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to peruse bananarepublic.com, gap.com, jcrew.com and loft.com. Before making a shopping list for Target. 🙂

  2. kwyver says:

    Brilliant post! It is all so true, just very hard to tell yourself when you see something you really really want to buy!
    http://www.styleisalwaysfashionable.blogspot.com

  3. HAHAH! I absolutley love this post!
    I sat here saying.. yep yep yep!
    Every September I organize my wardrobe and throw out loads of stuff, but then I stand there in the morning and think….. OMG I have NOTHING to wear and go shopping all over again!

    I am DOOMED to be a raging shopaholic for life!! hehe 🙂

    Chloe @ Cinnamon-tan.blogspot.com

  4. Man, I’m so glad my boyfriend’s been riding my ass about my shopping… it makes me realize I’ve cut back on QUITE a few of those!

  5. Cathie Maud says:

    Hehe, that’s so funny. And I will admit that I have been a clothes smuggler twice. 😛 Thought I was the only one who did that. lol

  6. Natassja says:

    Such good advice! Kept nodding my head, especially at #s 1-5 and 8! Luckily I, like you, have developed some pretty good strategies over the years to keep my shopping hobby fun and not burdensome on my wallet 🙂 Thanks for the friendly reminder to keep it together as fall sets in!

  7. Hey this is my story! What’s up with that? Yeah right, to think I’m alone in my shopaholic madness is crazy! The only thing missing from this post it that my husband had to McGyver my closet rack because it gave way from the wall, now a major clamp is holding it together! Could you like die? Feel better though that I’m not alone. Since I was let go at my job and have not been employed since, it’s hard to justify shopping, although I still manage to shop at least twice a week, but do not spend as much as I use to.

  8. ambika says:

    I definitely feel like I was guilty of this 10 or so years ago–when I could definitely least afford it. I have much better shopping habits now, but I do have to remind myself pretty regularly that my closet is full, I really don’t need another pair of pants (or shoes!), and to try to cycle stuff through so I feel like my clothes are fresh if only because they haven’t been worn in months. Best rule that’s helped–having to get rid of something to justify adding something to my closet!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Skirt Metaphors in Blue: Five Fabulous Things Every Girl Needs Modly Chic: Fall 2011 Fashion Trends One Outfit at a Time: 10 Signs You’re a Raging Shopaholic Small Town Big Wardrobe: Four Red Lipstick Reviews Style […]

  2. […] Skirt Metaphors in Blue: Five Fabulous Things Every Girl Needs Modly Chic: Fall 2011 Fashion Trends One Outfit at a Time: 10 Signs You’re a Raging Shopaholic Small Town Big Wardrobe: Four Red Lipstick Reviews Style […]

  3. […] One Outfit at a Time: 10 Signs You’re a Raging Shopaholic […]

  4. […] One Outfit at a Time: 10 Signs You’re a Raging Shopaholic […]

  5. […] One Outfit at a Time: 10 Signs You’re a Raging Shopaholic […]

  6. […] One Outfit at a Time: 10 Signs You’re a Raging Shopaholic […]

  7. […] One Outfit at a Time: 10 Signs You’re a Raging Shopaholic […]

  8. […] One Outfit at a Time: 10 Signs You’re a Raging Shopaholic […]

  9. […] One Outfit at a Time: 10 Signs You’re a Raging Shopaholic […]

  10. […] One Outfit at a Time: 10 Signs You’re a Raging Shopaholic […]

  11. […] One Outfit at a Time: 10 Signs You’re a Raging Shopaholic […]



Leave a comment