Fan Fridays: Girls

I just finished the entire first season of “Girls,” HBO’s hottest new dramedy following the escapades of four twenty-somethings in New York City as they try to figure out what they want from men, work, and life. This American television series was created by Lena Dunham who also plays Hannah, the shows main character. Due to the skeletal nature of the show, it has been likened to “Sex and the City.” But apart from the fact that it revolves around four women who are sexually active, the similarity stops there. Though the concept is rather simplistic I find it completely refreshing! Finally, a show that accurately depicts the plight of my generation.

From the first minute of the pilot episode I knew this show was for me. The series begins with Hannah’s parents deciding to cut her off at the age of 24. So she decides to demand a job from her unpaid internship in which she has dutifully worked for a year, only to get let go. After that each episode shows a continuing downward spiral that is too reminiscent of events within my own life or those I have known. There is nothing contrived about this series. At the age of 26 Lena Dunham has already received 5 Emmy nominations. My hero. Seriously, keep rocking on Lena!

My one critique? That at least one of these friends have a real part-time job. Ever heard of folding clothes or waiting tables? But eh! C’est la vie. I’ve met plenty of trust fund hipsters during my escapades interning in NYC. Too bad we can’t all be so lucky as to have our rent paid through the bank of mom. But regardless of anyone’s criticisms. I say “Girls” is ground breaking, refreshing, and a must see for any member of Generation Y. Including all of you men out there! I know I’ll sleep a little better knowing that some social commentary on my generation’s misfortunes is finally hitting the mainstream waves. So long story short, if you haven’t seen it yet, do yourself a favor and check it out!

 

* Below are some shopping finds inspired by Jessa Johansson, played by Jemima Kirke. Hannah is by far my favorite character in the show, but Jessa’s free-spirited bohemian sense of fashion is amaze!

 

 

I could totally see her rocking out to some of these looks from Thread Sence. Funky prints, cooler than thou shades, and hippie dippy flowing fabrics = shopping heaven!

Leave a Reply

